You are here: Home / Research / Subject Guides / Consumer Information

Consumer Information

Links to useful information on the Internet.
American Association of Retired Persons
AARP is a nonprofit membership organization of persons 50 and over dedicated to addressing their needs and interests. There is information on health and legal issues, travel, money and work, family and home, fun and games, learning and technology, and issues and elections.
Best of the Best Business Web Sites
Selected by the Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) of the American Library Association.
Better Business Bureau
The Better Business Bureau assists consumers with Business Reliability Reports, Dispute Resolution, Truth-in-Advertising, Consumer and Business Education, and Charity Review.
Affordable Care Act Information & Registration
Information regarding the Affordable Care Act and what plans are available. Register and sign-up for Insurance. Your one-stop place for Health Care under the Affordable Care Act.
Carfax
This site provides vehicle history reports.
Consumer Information Center
This Consumer Information Center in Pueblo, Colorado contains free full text version of hundreds of the best federal consumer publications available on cars, children, employment, federal programs, food and nutrition, health, housing, money, small business, travel, hobbies and more. There is an A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies.
Consumer Product Safety Commission
An independent federal regulatory committed to protecting consumers and families from products that pose a fire, electrical, chemical, or mechanical hazard or can injure children. The CPSC works to ensure the safety of consumer products - such as toys, cribs, power tools, cigarette lighters, and household chemicals. Recalled products and safety alerts on specific products are included.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Information regarding Medicare, Medicaid and the Affordable Care Act.
ConsumerReports
Subscription required to see full articles. Provides ratings, buying guides, product reviews and consumer information from the experts at Consumer Reports magazine. Find out what the best products are for appliances, automobiles, baby and child care products, electronics, foods, health & family, and recreation & home improvement.
ConsumerSearch
This site pulls together all sources of reviews on products. You can choose a quick comparison or a detailed review. ConsumerSearch lets you look at what online and offline reviewers say about everything from bread makers and digital cameras to snow blowers and weight- loss programs
Edmunds.com
The mission of this comprehensive car site is to: empower automotive consumers by providing complete, clear, timely, accurate and unbiased information needed to make informed purchase and ownership decisions. There pricing, car reviews, and ratings for new and used cars. There are discussion forums and tips for purchasing cars.
Environmental Protection Agency
This site contains gas mileage (MPG) information, greenhouse gas emissions, air pollution ratings, and safety information for new and used cars and trucks. You can compare vehicles, find the lowest gasoline prices, and find out about hybrid and alternative fuel vehicles
Fare Compare First
They seek to improve the current shopping process by providing relevant information to consumers in a timely fashion. The site allows you to compare fares for airlines, hotels, and car rentals.
FirstGov for Consumers
A "one-stop" link to a broad range of federal information resources available online. It is designed so that you can locate information by category -- such as Food, Health, Product Safety, Your Money, and Transportation. Each category has subcategories to direct you to areas within individual federal web sites containing related information.
Food Safety
Iowa State University Extension provides information food safety information to consumers, foodservice managers and employees, and other site visitors on safe food handling practices. Questions regarding the safe preparation and handling of food can be answered here.
Home Energy Saver
This is a do-it-yourself energy audit tool. There are resources to help make your home more energy efficient.
Homefair
Compares the cost of living in hundreds of U.S. cities.
Kelley Blue Book
This Kelley Blue Book site has pricing for new and used cars. There are reviews and ratings and as well as insurance and financing information.
Kiplinger
This site provides you with down-to-earth advice on managing your money and achieving financial security. There are interactive calculators, up-to-the-minute business news, stock and mutual fund quotes, deposit account yields and credit rates. “Getting Started” articles will introduce you to common financial concepts and show you how to get the best deals.
Iowa Attorney General
The official web page of the Iowa Attorney General
Mymoney
This site was set up by the Financial Literacy and Education Commission with the purpose of improving the financial literacy and education of persons in the United States. To reach the widest number of people possible, the Commission established a website and a toll-free telephone number to coordinate the presentation of educational materials from across the spectrum of federal agencies that deal with financial issues and markets.
National Library of Medicine-Toxic Substances
Tox Town is the National Library of Medicine's website about environmental health concerns and commonly encountered toxic substances. Enhanced with lively graphics, sound effects and animation, Tox Town brings to life the ordinary locations where you might encounter ozone, cleaning products, radon, solvents and other potential hazards.
Social Security Online
The official site of the U.S. Social Security Administration. It has information on social security numbers, retirement benefits, disability, Medicare, and other issues related to social security.
Tom’s Hardware
For computer buffs and IT professionals looking for the latest hardware tips, gaming enthusiasts who want to meet other fans, businesspeople who need the best mobile devices, and electronics enthusiasts who are building a state-of-the-art home office. It is a comprehensive source of today’s news and analysis of current computer technology.
Underwriters Laboratories
This agency develops standards and test procedures for materials, components, assemblies, tools, equipment and procedures, chiefly dealing with product safety and utility. You can check to see what products are already certified, submit products for testing, and read warnings regarding unsafe products.
Weather Underground
Weather Underground is committed to delivering the most reliable, accurate weather information possible. There are weather conditions and forecasts for over 60,000 U.S. and international cities.
U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)
An independent federal agency established by Congress to assist, counsel, support and protect the interest of small business concerns and to assist them in their start-up and growth. There is information on the state and national level for starting, financing, and managing small businesses.
US Department of Energy
This Web site includes tips on using the latest advances in energy-saving products and practices.
Household Products Database
The Household Products Database is a consumer's guide that provides easy-to-understand information on the potential health effects of more than 2,000 ingredients contained in more than 10,000 common household prodcuts used inside and around the home.
Library Hours
Monday        10am-8pm
Tuesday       10am-8pm
Wednesday   10am-8pm
Thursday      10am-8pm
Friday          10am-6pm
Saturday      10am-2pm
Sunday        Closed

 

Contact Us:

641-792-4108
100 N 3rd Ave W, PO Box 746
Newton, IA 50208
newtonpl@newton.lib.ia.us

Ask us a Question

Book Suggestions

« October 2017 »
October
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031
Upcoming Events
Toddler & Two's Storytime Oct 24, 2017 10:30 AM - 11:00 AM — Carousel Horse Room
eBooks by Appointment Oct 25, 2017 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM — Library Conference Room
Preschool Storytime Oct 26, 2017 10:30 AM - 11:00 AM — Carousel Horse Room
Science and the Afterlife Oct 26, 2017 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM — Library Meeting Room
Baby Storytime Oct 30, 2017 10:30 AM - 11:00 AM — Carousel Horse Room
Previous events…
Upcoming events…